Skip navigation

Board of Directors

Our board of directors is made up of the following;

Reg Gott

Executive Directors
Rob Smith, Chief Executive Officer
Michael Tyerman, Finance Director 

Non-Executive Directors
Reg Gott, Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee
Michael Roller, Chairman of the Audit Committee

Company Secretary
Dr Maura Moynihan

Reg Gott, Non-Executive Chairman

Reginald (Reg) Gott [aged 61] has been a non-executive director since 2006. He was appointed as Chairman of the board at the AGM held in 2015.

He continues to act as both chairman of the remuneration committee and chairman of the nominations committee.

Reg was chief executive of Resource Group Limited until early in 2016. From 2002 to 2008 he was an executive director of FKI plc, an international diversified engineering group, and from 2009 to 2012 he was chief executive of Nuaire Group.

Reg has an extensive background in the machinery, automation and controls segments of the capital goods markets across Europe and North America.

Rob Smith, Chief Executive Officer

Robert (Rob) Smith [aged 54] was appointed as Chief Executive Officer with effect from 3 March 2015. Prior to this date he was chief financial officer.

He was previously Finance Director at APC Technology Group PLC, a distributor of specialist electronic components and smart energy saving products and services provider.

Rob has also served as Finance Director at Densitron Technologies plc, a manufacturer and distributor of electronic displays.
Rob´s earlier career was spent principally in the electronic components industry working for GEC, Centronic and International Rectifier.

He is a Chartered Management Accountant and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Michael Tyerman, Finance Director

Michael Tyerman [aged 40] was appointed as Finance Director with effect from 01 April 2016.

Prior to joining Filtronic, Michael held various positions within Procter and Gamble, Huntsman Polyurethanes and Komatsu. He joined Filtronic in 2007 as Financial Controller of the Broadband business and was promoted to the position of Group Financial Controller in 2009. He has been Interim Head of Finance for the Filtronic group since July 2015 and served this position until his appointment to the Board.

Michael is a Chartered Management Accountant.

Michael Roller, Non-Executive Director

Michael Roller [aged 53] was appointed as a non-executive director on 1 June 2013; and was appointed chairman of the audit committee on 27 November 2015.

In March 2014, Michael joined the board of Bioquell plc as group finance director. Michael has previously been finance director of a number of quoted companies, most recently Corin Group plc. He has also held a number of other senior finance roles in a broad range of listed and private companies.

Michael qualified as a chartered accountant with KPMG.

Dr Maura Moynihan, Company Secretary

Qualifying as a solicitor with Lovells in 1993, Maura joined Filtronic plc in 2002 as General Counsel. Maura's background gives her particular expertise in the fields of intellectual property and company and commercial law.

In 2004 Maura was promoted to Company Secretary and continues as General Counsel in addition to this role.